Login | Renew | Join

About the Irish Academy of Management


The Irish Academy of Management is the leading professional association for management studies, research and education on the island of Ireland. The academy was formed in 1997, when a group of academic staff and postgraduate students met at Dublin City University. During that meeting, the constitution was adopted. A copy of the constitution may be found here



The purpose of the Irish Academy of Management is to promote the advancement of research, knowledge and education in the field of organisation and management studies.

To further its purpose, the Academy pursues the following objectives:

>To build wider appreciation and acceptance of the science and practise of management;
>To provide opportunities for researchers to collaborate within and across the sub-area specialities of management;
>To encourage presentation and publication of scholarly research


Irish Academy of Management Code of Ethics can be found here

Details of IAM Council Membership can be found here.


History of the IAM's chairs, conferences and Irish Journal of Management


Chairs of the IAM- Past and Current

1997-1999         Jim Walsh

2000-2002         Kathy Monks

2003-2004         Roy Green

2005-2007         Thomas O'Toole

2008-2010         Mike Morley

2011                  Alma McCarthy

2012                  Joe MacDonagh (Acting Chair)

2013                  Alma McCarthy

2014                  Margaret Linehan

2017                  Felicity Kelliher


Editors of the IJM/IBAR* - Past and Current

2017-present     Jonathan Lavelle + Michelle O'Sullivan

2013- 2016        Edel Conway + Jonathan Lavelle

2010-2013         David Collings + James Cunningham

2007-2010         Kathy Monks

1996-2007         Patrick Gunnigle

1978-1996         Teresa Brannick

1978-1996         Bill Roche

1978-1996         Aidan Kelly

* (IBAR began in 1978 and so preceded the IAM’s foundation)


IAM Conferences

1996- UCC: 1st Conference on Management Research in Ireland: “Management research: the way forward”- Chief Organiser- Dr Jim Walsh

At the 1st Conference a decision was taken at an open Forum to set up a Committee which would advance a variety of issues, including the drawing up of a Constitution for the establishment of the Irish Academy of Management. That Committee met throughout 1996/97 and crafted the constitution and deliberated on the Journal and the relationship with the existing journal, Irish Business and Administrative Research.


1997- DCU: 2nd Conference on Management Research in Ireland: 'Competitiveness Through Innovation', Dublin City University. Chief Organiser- Dr Kathy Monks

The proposed Constitution for the Academy was voted on by Delegates and Adopted. The Academy was inaugurated.


1998- 1st IAM Annual Conference, National University of Ireland Galway. Conference Chair- Dr Leo Smyth


1999- 2nd IAM Annual Conference: 'Management Challenges in the New Millennium', University of Limerick. Conference Chair - Professor Patrick Gunnigle


2000- 3rd IAM Annual Conference, Dublin Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Kate Ui Ghallachoir


2001- 4th IAM Annual Conference, University of Ulster (Magee College). Conference Chairs- Dr Terry Cradden & Dr Trevor Morrow


2002- 5th IAM Annual Conference: 'Boundaries and Interfaces in Management', Waterford Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Thomas O’Toole


2003- 6th IAM Annual Conference: 'Facing the New Management Education and Research Agenda', University College Dublin. Conference Chair- Dr Sean De Burca


2004- 7th IAM Annual Conference: 'Understanding, Shaping and Managing Change', Trinity College Dublin. Conference Chair- Dr Mairead Brady


2005- 8th IAM Annual Conference: 'Creating, Managing, Practicing Knowledge', Galway Mayo Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Noel Harvey


2006- 9th IAM Annual Conference: 'New Models of Management in a Knowledge-Based Economy', University College Cork. Conference Chair- Dr Breda McCarthy


2007- 10th IAM Annual Conference: 'Connecting Theory & Practice', Queens University Belfast. Conference Chair- Professor Nola Hewitt Dundas


2008- 11th IAM Annual Conference: 'New Ideas for a New Century', Dublin City University. Conference Chair- Dr Edel Conway


2009- 12th IAM Annual Conference: 'Revitalising the Field: Innovation, Rigour and Relevance', Galway Mayo Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Noel Harvey


2010- 13th IAM Annual Conference: 'Renewing the Management Research Mandate', Cork Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Margaret Linehan


2011- 14th IAM Annual Conference: 'Making a World of Difference: Nation Building and the Role of Management Education', National College of Ireland. Conference Chairs- Professor Jimmy Hill and Dr Colette D'Arcy


2012- 15th IAM Annual Conference: 'Transforming Management Research & Education', Maynooth University. Conference Chair- Professor Graham Heaslip


2013- 16th IAM Annual Conference: 'Scholarship of Integration- engaging communities of learning and practice', Waterford Institute of Technology. Conference Chair- Dr Felicity Kelliher


2014- 17th IAM Annual Conference: 'Managing in a Changing Climate: Leading to New Realities', University of Limerick. Conference Chairs- Dr Christine Cross and Dr Michelle O'Sullivan


2015- 18th IAM Annual Conference: 'Towards Socially Responsible Management?', National University of Ireland Galway. Conference Chair- Professor Alma McCarthy


2016- 19th IAM Annual Conference: 'Ireland 2016: Re-imagining business and the role of ethics', University College Dublin. Conference Chair- Dr Colm McLaughlin


2017- 20th IAM Annual Conference: 'Ireland 2017: Facing the business and management challenges of a post-Brexit World', Queens University Belfast. Conference Chairs- Professor Geoff Simmons and Dr. Kristel Miller


2018- 21st IAM Annual Conference: 'Does Management Matter', University College Cork. Conference Chairs- Dr. Ronan Carbery and Dr. Ultan Sherman


2019- 22nd IAM Annual Conference: 'Responsible Management', National College of Ireland. Conference Chair- Dr Vivienne Byers

Get In Touch

For general information about the IAM please contact us at:

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Registered Charity

The Irish Academy of Management Research and Education trading as The Irish Academy of Management. Registered in Ireland under Company Registration Number: 582083. Registered Charity Number: 20108106 
Media files
Admin Editor

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.